FIRSTS FOR THE BUCKEYE DISTRICT

The District functioned on a one-per year meeting until 1956 when the first Spring meeting has held at The Ohio State University — March 13, 1956 under the Directorship of Harold Allen.

The Buckeye Rose Bulletin was first published July 15, 1955, under the Editorship of William Ritter. Clair Johnson and Robert Ihrig served as his assistants. All were members of the Akron Rose Society.

The District meeting was changed to a two-day conference status in 1955 when the convention was hosted by the Lima Rose Society at the Allen County Memorial Hall.

The first Consulting Rosarians were appointed during the 1955 convention in Lima.

The McFarland District Trophy is the oldest District rose trophy. It was first offered in competition in 1956 during the conference sponsored by the Miami Valley Rose Society at the Dayton Art Institute. It first called for Six Hybrid Tea Roses — it was later changed to Seven Hybrid Tea Roses and more recently to five.

The first Judging School was organized in 1955 and served as the Sunday attraction at the Lima convention.

Joseph J. Klima of University Heights was the first National President from the Buckeye District to serve the American Rose Society. Mr. M.E. Noggle of Circleville was the first Buckeye to serve as National Treasurer of ARS.

The Cleveland Rose Society is the oldest society in the District.

The Buckeye District held its first ARS National Convention in Columbus in 1953.

The American Rose Society headquarters moved to Columbus from Harrisburg, PA in 1954 and moved from Columbus to Shreveport, LA in 1974.

The first Buckeye District Top Gun in Findlay in 1997.