A Brief History Of The Buckeye District Of The American Rose Society

by Dr. Jim Hering Marion, Ohio President Emeritus, American Rose Society

The Buckeye District was organized in September 1950, and was known as the Buckeye Rose Conference until 1954 when the name was officially changed to the Buckeye District of the American Rose Society. The Cleveland Rose Society, the oldest society in the District, served as host for the organizational meeting, that was held at Mentor High School. All six rose societies in the state were represented: Cincinnati Rose Society, Greater Cincinnati Rose Association, Columbus Rose Club, Central Ohio Rose Society, Miami Valley Rose Society and Cleveland Rose Society. The speaker for the organizational banquet was Mr. Hastings, Secretary of the All America Rose Selections, who presented a paper on new roses for the future.

The first officers were: Harry O'Brien, District Director; Fay McNamara, President; Tom Haber, 1" Vice President; Joseph Kern, 2nd Vice President; Robert Simpson, Secretary and Edward Wickert, Treasurer.

The District had one meeting per year (fall) until 1956 when the first spring meeting was held at the Ohio State University under the Directorship of Harold Allen. Fall conferences and rose shows have been hosted by local societies throughout the District and spring meetings have generally been held in Central Ohio. The District has hosted two Region 4 Conferences and seven National Conventions.

The Buckeye Rose Bulletin was first published July 15, 1955, under the editorship of William Ritter. Since then Robert Hatterschide, Art Sparks, Bruce Delong and Mark Miller have served as editors, and the Bulletin has been awarded ARS 1 Gold (2014), 2 Silver and 3 Bronze honors for district bulletins.

The first Consulting Rosarians were appointed during the 1955 District Convention in Lima. CR Schools and seminars are being held on a regular basis, and our current District CR Chairman is Ann Schlinkert.

The first judging school was conducted in 1955 at the Lima meeting, and the District continues to hold horticulture and arrangement judging schools and seminars as needed directed by Dr. Jim Hering (Horticulture) and Dr. Gary Barlow, Terri Lady and Dr. Elton and Ann Smith (Arrangement), District Judging Chairpersons.

The McFarland District Trophy is the District's oldest. It was first offered in competition in 1956 during the conference hosted by the Miami Valley Rose Society at the Dayton Art Institute.

The District has had 16 Directors since Harry O'Brien: Ray McNamara, Harold Allen, Wade Belden, Betty Pavey (two split terms), Bob Miller, Pete Zimmerman, Merle Holcomb, Russ Bowermaster, Jim Hering, Gary. Barlow, Terri Lady, Jim Zimmerman, Elton Smith, Larry

Schock, Steve Campbell and Audrey Palumbo, our present Director. There have been as many as 25 local societies in the District in the past 50 years — there are currently 14.