BUCKEYE DISTRICT PERPETUAL CHALLENGE CLASSES/TROPHIES

DAVID ACKERS BEST OF SHOW IN HORTICULTURE TROPHY - Best horticulture entry on the trophy table – Established in 2016.

J. HORACE MCFARLAND MEMORIAL TROPHY – Five (5) different hybrid tea roses at exhibition stag, one bloom per stem, each in a separate container.

The award honors Dr. J. Horace McFarland, President of the American Rose Society 1930-1932. He was the editor of ARS publications for 29 years and published the first *Modern Roses* in 1930. Dr. McFarland was recognized for his contributions to ARS in 1930 with the Gold Honor Medal and designation as President Emeritus. The award was created in 1949 and is competed for annually in each fall ARS National Rose Show. Each district of ARS has a similar, although smaller, bronze plaque with a sculptured relief of Dr. McFarland. It was first placed in competition in 1951.

JOHN AND SUE DICKMAN TROPHY – (formerly the Past Presidents' Trophy)(renamed in 2021) – Three (3) floribunda sprays, same or different varieties in separate containers.

HARRY O'BRIEN MEMORIAL TROPHY – Three classic shrubs, same or different varieties, in separate vases.

This award was first presented in 1969 and honors Harry O'Brien, the first director of the Buckeye District from 1947-1952. He was a resident of Columbus and a member of the Columbus Rose Club and Central Ohio Rose Society.

DR. GRIFFITH J. BUCK TROPHY – Three (3) modern shrubs, one bloom per stem or spray, each a different variety, in separate containers – trophy first awarded in 2003.

This trophy honors Dr. Griffith J. Buck. During is tenure at Iowa State University Buck developed more than 85 varieties of roses that were hardy enough to thrive in the Midwest's tough summers and even tougher winters. Hardy to Zone 4 or colder, the spreading or upright shrubs are available in many sizes and colors.

WENZEL PERPETUAL TROPHY – One (1) hybrid tea and one (1) miniature or miniflora, one bloom per stem and at exhibition stage, in separate containers – The varieties should be of similar or complementary color.

Fred Wenzel, formerly of Loveland, Ohio, along with his father, presented this award to the Buckeye District in 1996. Fred served the district as secretary, vice president and president and received the Outstanding Judge Award in 1994 and the Silver Honor Medal in 1995.

HERBERT W. BOPE MEMORIAL CHALLENGE CLASS – One (1) hybrid tea, one bloom per stem, disbudded, exhibition stage; one (1) grandiflora, one bloom per stem, disbudded, exhibition stage; and one (1) floribunda spray, one stem with two or more blooms, exhibited in separate containers.

The class, established in 1998, honors Herbert W. Bope of Newark who served the district as vice president and president. He received the Outstanding Consulting Rosarian Award in 1969 and the Silver Honor Medal in 1983.

RALPH S. MOORE TROPHY – Seven (7) miniature roses, one bloom per stem, each a different variety with exhibition form exhibited in separate containers.

This award honors Ralph S. Moore of Visalia, California, the founder and operator of Sequoia Nursery/Moore Miniature Roses. He has had a significant influence on the development of miniature roses in the United States, and his creations may be found in the parentage of many of the roses that we grow and exhibit today.

J. BENJAMIN WILLIAMS TROPHY – Seven (7) miniflora roses, one bloom per stem, each a different variety with exhibition form exhibited in separate containers.

Ben Williams, whom this trophy honors, was a hybridizer and nurseryman who coined the name "miniflora", trade marked it and then donated the trade mark to the American Rose Society.

ROBERT A. HATTERSCHIDE BEST OF SHOW IN DESIGN TROPHY – Awarded to the arrangement with the highest point score among all arrangements – First awarded in 1996

This award honors Robert A. Hatterschide of Cincinnati, an outstanding arranger, who received the Outstanding Consulting Rosarian Award in 1972, the Outstanding Judge Award in 1979 and the Silver Honor Medal in 1976.

MARTHA AND IRWIN JONES TROPHY – Awarded to the best standard size traditional design arrangement.

The award honors Martha and Irwin Jones who resided in Pataskala. They were members of the Central Ohio Rose Society, and Irwin belonged to the Columbus Rose Club. Irwin served as treasurer of the American Rose Society (1967-1973) as well as district chairman of judges.

THE GARY C. BARLOW TROPHY FOR STANDARD MODERN DESIGN – (formerly the Consulting Rosarian Trophy)(renamed in 2021) – Awarded to the best standard modern design.

THE LEWIS K. SHUPE TROPHY FOR STANDARD EAST ASIAN DESIGN – (formerly the District Director's Oriental Design Trophy)(renamed in 2021) – awarded for the best standard size East Asian design arrangement.

MARGE AND PETE ZIMMERMAN ARRANGEMENT TROPHY – awarded to the best miniature or miniflora traditional design arrangement.

The award honors Margaret and Peter Zimmerman of Fairview Park. The Zimmermans both received the Outstanding Judge Award in 1985. Pete received the Silver Honor Medal in 1979 and the Outstanding Consulting Rosarian Award in 1994. Marge was honored with the Silver Honor Medal in 1977.

THE JIM AND BARBARA ZIMMERMAN MODERN DESIGN TROPHY – (formerly the Miniature Modern Design Trophy)(renamed in 2021) – awarded for the best miniature or miniflora modern arrangement.

THE PAT SOMMER TROPHY FOR EAST ASIAN DESIGN – (formerly the Miniature Oriental Design Trophy)(renamed in 2021) – awarded for the best miniature or miniflora East Asian arrangement.

THE ROBERT E. AND MILDRED C. LAWTON BEST OF SHOW IN PHOTOGRAPHY TROPHY — (formerly for H.T. stages of bloom)(renamed in 2021) - awarded to the best photographic entry in the show.

Robert and Mildred Lawton resided in Cincinnati. He was a member of the Cincinnati Rose Society and served as an ARS Director at Large from 1957-1962.

The following district challenge class trophies were eliminated by action of the membership in 2021.

HAROLD H. ALLEN TROPHY

WILBUR H. HRUBY CONSULTING ROSARIAN TROPHY

CECIL C. ROACH TROPHY

BETTY PAVEY BOWL

MULL POTT

PAUL PENCIL AARS CHALLENGE TROPHY

BOSLEY PERPETUAL QUEEN OF SHOW TROPHY